Sweet Favourites

So since my first blog post, my intention was to bake and share at least once a week. Little did I know that it would be a challenge with my boy around. At 5 months he is such a cute handful. I haven’t baked or made any sweet treats in a while however I thought I would share some of my favourite bakes I made while on maternity leave.

In first place has to be the glazed blueberry cake donuts. Oh goodness, just thinking about them leaves me with a serious craving. They’re not too sweet, just right.  I stumbled across the recipe when I had plenty of blueberries in the fridge but no clue what to do with them. I tried the recipe as it is, with no alterations and they turned out perfectly the first time, and the second, and the third 🙂

http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/06/glazed-blueberry-cake-donuts-the-real-ones/

donuts

In second place, is another blueberry treat 🙂 ….what can I say, I love berries.  After the donuts being such a hit, I decided to search for another recipe with blueberries and I stumbled across a lemon & blueberry cake recipe with cream cheese icing. Are you salivating already? With my mom’s help, I made the perfect cake first time. It was soft and moist and everything perfectly balanced, it just melted in your mouth. On my second attempt, I forgot to include one of the ingredients, buttermilk, which affected the appearance of the cake. It didn’t rise as expected and didn’t look as smooth but it still tasted good. This cake is perfect in summer and would be a great hit with your guests.

http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2014/02/09/lemon-blueberry-layer-cake/

cake

And finally! The amazing shortbread cookies, which can be flavoured to preference. I tried these amazing cookies with dried cranberries, choc chips and lemon zest. You can try them with nuts, coconut, whatever your heart desires. Be careful when you make these because they are addictive. Once you’ve had one, it’s difficult to stop. Here’s the recipe:

1 1/4 cups butter or margarine ( I find they both work well)

1 cup icing sugar

2 1/4 cups cake flour

1 tsp vanilla essence

Flavour of your choice (how much, is up to you)

Method

Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius

Cream butter and icing sugar until light and fluffy. Mix in the flour, a little at a time until combined. Stir in flavour of your choice. Do not over mix. You can roll the mixture into small balls or flattened and cut with a small cookie cut. Bake for 10-15 minutes. Leave to cool, dust with a bit of icing sugar and enjoy!

This recipe will yield approximately 30 small cookies.

Cranberry cookies.jpg

Leave a Reply

